| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Whenever you search in PBworks, Dokkio Sidebar (from the makers of PBworks) will run the same search in your Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Gmail, and Slack. Now you can find what you're looking for wherever it lives. Try Dokkio Sidebar for free.

View
 

Week 3 Basic Filming and Editing  28 Jan - 3 Feb 2013 (redirected from Week 2 VIDEO PRODUCTION 16 Jan - 22 Jan)

Page history last edited by Heike Philp 9 years, 8 months ago


Week 3  Basic Filming and Editing

 

This week we will double-check our progress on last week's tasks and ease into some of the more technical aspects of film production with exercises using still photos and live footage.

Moderators:  Barbara Novelli, Jens Nerido

 

RECORDINGS

Wed, 30 January 2013, 7pm GMT / 11am SLT 

(1h 58min)  http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p7y3it14jx7/

Sat, 2 February 2013, 6pm GMT / 10am SLT

(1h 46min)  http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p71hinciv2q/

Sun, 3 February 2013 4am GMT / Sat 8pm SLT

(19min) http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p589i7uer5z/

(1h 21min) http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p4vi41nwprh/

 

SPECIAL EVENT 

MY AVATAR AND ME

(description: http://machinevo.ning.com/profiles/blogs/my-avatar-and-me-fantasy-documentary-by-bente-milton)

Recording of film viewing 1h 59min http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p4so0ruotj3/

Recording of interview  1h 22min http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/p3i8c84iji6/

 

Meeting Location:  EduNation in Second Life, MachinEVO Platform  http://slurl.com/secondlife/EduNation/177/139/1001

Livestream Link:  http://lancelot.adobeconnect.com/machinevo

 

Checklist of What to Bring:

 

             Scripts/story boards

 

             Photos of your sets/sims and costumes

 

Topics/Tasks (2 hours):

 

I.   Review of how much the various groups have done

 

II.  Practice using camera controls

 

III.  Additional SL tips and tricks:

 

A.  Removing the typing animation

B.  Hiding name tags

C.  Hiding other unwanted items from your viewing screen

D.  Altering debug settings

E.  Altering daylight

F.  Walking smoothly to somewhere by using a single click

G.  Getting the camera to follow an avatar

 

IV.  Visit to sets at the Machininima Open Studio Project

 

A.  Sound Stage 1 for picture taking practice

B.  Night Beach Set for live footage practice

 

V.  Filming suggestions:

 

A.  Filming steps

 

1.  Set up

2.  Record

3.  Pause

4.  Set up

5.  Resume . . .

6.  Stop and "Save and edit" only after filming all your clips for the day

 

B.  Skills to master inside your editing program:

 

1.  Importing media

                             2.  Building tracks

                             3.  Altering the size and focus point of images

                             4.  Adding motion to stills:

                                           a.  Zooming and panning

                                           b.  Rotation

                            5.  Adding transitions

                            6.  Adding narration

                            7.  Adding a title and credits

                            8.  Adding music

 

C.  Resources that review these skills for Camtasia:

                

1.  Instruction Video for Exercise 1:   http://youtu.be/7zp90GoqTkg

2. Text of Exercise 1 Instructions

3.  Sample Exercise 1 Video from Still Photos:  http://youtu.be/v_QO-cbzoSA 

 

Additional Resources

 

Tasks to Complete by Next Week:

 

     Shoot your film!!

 

 

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.